Composer, Conductor

Read More

Birdseed and the Four Pianos

Birdseed and the Four Pianos is a work for oboe, clarinet, and bassoon and was my thesis from the University of Alabama. It is in five movements:

I. Petrichor

II. Corona

III. Abscission

IV. Frost Flower

V. seed and salt and soil and root

It marks my first work truly inspired by nature and features five short character pieces. Each piece explores a different compositional technique such as timbre development, fugue, solo and accompaniment, and stasis. In the fifth movement, one element from each of the previous four is explored and developed together. 

The work was a finalist in the 2016 Alfred Schnittke Composers Forum and Competition held in Lviv, Ukraine where it was premiered. 

Jacob Smith